I Didn’t Bring Anything to the Ladies Brunch

Hey everyone, I know it’s been a while! I started this post months ago, but life happens and I never finished it. It has weighed on me though and I wanted to share this with you.

We have all been in this situation: you have a fellowship meal or ladies brunch and something happened and you didn’t cook anything. It may have snuck up on you (life gets busy), you may have not been feeling well in the days leading up to the event, you may just be exhausted from work/school/the kids, or you may have not heard about the event until the last minute….but whatever the reason the time is here and you have nothing. You could go buy something, but your budget is tight and we all know how much a bakery charges for goodies….but you can’t go empty handed.

I’m here to tell you, you can go empty handed! 

We were going to be having a brunch to discuss ladies day. I wasn’t sure we would make it because we were leaving that day for vacation. One of the sweet women simply said “come if you can come, don’t worry about bringing anything, I know you have a lot going on.” Well, you know people always say things like that, and we are all busy. True, our homeschooling year had started back up, I have a very active toddler, and I was pregnant with #3 at the time…then throw in regular household chores and packing 4 people for a week…I was a little frazzled…But, I was raised that you don’t go empty handed to a meal. What would people say? What if everyone did that? There wouldn’t be any food! So I had it in my head I would get something made.

Well, the day came and we decided to leave later in the afternoon so I could go to the brunch. I didn’t have anything to take.  I thought about what the sweet lady said “just come”, and I remembered the countless times I have heard it said “don’t worry if you didn’t bring anything, just stay/come and fellowship”. So I went empty handed….well in a manner I had 2 little girls with me.

You know what? No-one said anything, there was plenty of food, and I got to spend the morning with my sister’s in Christ and my daughters.

Ladies, it is okay if every now and then you come to a meal empty handed. Mommas, the older ladies understand. They have been there! They know what it’s like to take care of a family, they know how hard it is to squeeze in another chore, they understand!  It’s okay, it really is.

I think sometimes we (at least me anyway) get so overwhelmed with bringing something we miss the important part-the fellowship.  That’s what matters the most, being with our spiritual family and raising our kids to know that being with your spiritual family is important.  We need that so much. (Being Martha is important, but let’s not ever allow it to overshadow being Mary!)

I’m not saying that all of us should go to every meal and not bring anything, but I am saying it is okay to do it when necessary.  Go, fellowship, let others help you. It is okay, it really is….being together is more important than pecan pie.

Until next time,

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

